My Pancreas Sucks

6 Jun

Image
Okay, I *THINK* that this is the end of the Monster Pancreas run.  :)  The grand finale if you will.

I just couldn’t resist the pun.  I know I am almost certainly not funny to you.  But I find myself HILARIOUS.

5 Responses to “My Pancreas Sucks”

  1. Debbie March 20, 2013 at 10:47 pm #

    I wanted to hear how are you doing today? I am supposed to get this surgery as well on April 18, 2013. I am freaking out about it. Reading your blog is very helpful, but I’m still freaked. Please let me know how you are doing. Debbie

    • Tara March 21, 2013 at 8:20 am #

      Hi, Debbie! Thanks for getting in touch!! I’m so excited for you that you are getting your surgery! I’m doing SO well now! Life is back to normal x10. I first got sick at age 13, and I’m now 26, so most of my life has been consumed by nasty pancreas related crap. I’m back to work full time and making all my dreams come true! :) Life is good!! Keep in touch! I want to know all about your surgery and how it goes!! Do you have support? Are you plugged in to a group on facebook or anywhere else? Where are you getting your surgery? How long have you been sick?

      Okay, enough with the questions already! I’m so excited for you! I really hope this surgery is the answer to your prayers like it was for me!

  2. Debbie March 21, 2013 at 9:46 pm #

    Oh thank you so much for writing back. No, I’m not linked in with anyone for support you were the first person to write me. I live in California but will be getting my surgery done at the University of Medicine in Arzonia.
    So the crazy thing about my case is my pain is minimal but my pancreas is in a stage of advance damage. I am 50 and had my first attack last May. The doctors discovered I have a divism. I have an extremely high tolerance to pain, which I’m told has been my problem, not recognizing that I was having an acute attack. They have me on Tramadol which controls the pain. I still go to work everyday.
    I know I need this surgery it’s just such a big scary surgery. I just if I don’t do it I will continue to lose islet cells.
    I’m so torn on what to do. If I was buckled over in pain the decision would be easy.
    Please give me your opinion?.

    • Tara March 22, 2013 at 2:45 pm #

      I highly recommend you visit this group if you are on FB (heck, I highly recommend if you aren’t on FB you get an account just to join this group): https://www.facebook.com/groups/297800476996419/

      The people here are the most positive, supportive friendly people I have met. You can ask them questions and expect honest responses. It’s great, and I found that groups were a lifesaver during the nervewrecking weeks before surgery!!!

      I have a friend who had the surgery just before me, Rachel. She was very similar to you, she rarely had symptoms and was totally torn about getting the surgery. I think she is very glad that she had it though. I was extremely sick, so it is hard for me to tell you what to do, I know it isn’t the same situation. Although, I was also still going to work and attempting to function normally, so I can understand the question of whether or not it’ll be worse because of the surgery. But here is my thought: the sooner you do this, the better chance you will have. Without the surgery, pancreatitis puts us at risk for cancer, diabetes and all kinds of other scary stuff. The surgery is the best bet at never having to deal with any of that.

      On the other hand, it is a trade off. Recovery is hard work (and I do mean work… walking to the mail box wiped me out after surgery!) you have to watch your blood sugar after and deal with diabetes. With luck, you’ll be off insulin before long. I have been off insulin for (just guessing) about a year now. I still have off days– days when I’m sick or nauseous or just don’t feel right– but here is what I think the best part is: I don’t have that fear anymore. I’m not scared of the future.. of the next flare up, of cancer… of all the endless what-ifs. I finally feel like I can make plans, travel, work, move where I want to– and it is all because of the TP-AIT.

  3. Debbie March 22, 2013 at 9:23 pm #

    This really really helps, thank you so much. Just so happens tonight is a painful night, so it makes the decision easy.
    I have good insurance, but I’ve been warned that patients are still out of pocket for a lot of money. Were you? Sorry if that’s too personal, please don’t answer if I’ve over stepped.

    I do have a Facebook account and I will visit theirs tonight.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

